To my Husband on Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day, Collsballs!

3FB

For those who don’t know, Collsballs is my affectionate nickname for Collin. He says he hates it, but he acknowledges me when I call him by it so I think he secretly likes it. He’s currently asleep as I’m typing this at 1:30 in the morning, as he should be. He’s had a very long day, what with being scheduled to board a plane to deploy for nine months and then it being post-poned 24 hours last minute. Luckily, I was only a few hours away and turned around to come and stay another night with him. Talk about turning lemons into lemonade!

Collin has been celebrating Father’s Day since just after we found out I was pregnant with Trinity. Eight years we have celebrated this holiday, and he has only been physically present for about half of those years with deployments and training/field assignments. Nonetheless, every year we celebrate – either with a dinner and gifts, or a care package and a lengthy phone call.

Collin is the most amazing father, husband, son, brother, uncle, friend… the list goes on. If you’re lucky enough to call him any of those, you already know this. Being his wife, I may be a bit biased, but I’m no fool. The man has his flaws. Aside from certain bodily functions that only a man can do so freely, he knows all of my buttons and how to press them just so I don’t completely fly off the deep end. For all of his flaws, he is nothing short of an amazing husband to me and father to our children.

 

1FB

4FB

He’s the parent that will discipline and provide constructive criticism when needed, and in the same 10 minute window the man will take the kids on an ice cream run. He’s the parent who CC is afraid will be most disappointed when getting into trouble, the parent that Trinity is most excited to show her good grades to. He’s the parent that buys his son a Pokemon shirt at Old Navy as I’m giggling KNOWING he is just dying on the inside having to pay $10 for something he makes fun of me for being into as a kid; the parent who takes his baby girl to Justice and helps her pick out fun pajamas. This one takes the  MVP (Most Valuable Parent) trophy – the man willingly walks into Chuck E. Cheese, a near-suicidal mission if you’re a parent with a fuse only so long, helps the kids win tickets galore and shows them up at air hockey. Nope, we’re not those parents that let their kids win on purpose. Maximum effort is exerted no matter what game or activity we play.

The thing about parenting with Collin that is the most fun, I think, is the fact that we have two totally different parenting styles. Blame it on being raised differently, our personalities, our love languages… we are two totally different breeds of parent. You’d be surprised how much this comes in handy, but there are struggles that come with this as well. For instance, I’m a helicopter mom. I admit it – judge away. Collin is a cross between what most people would call a “hard ass” and an undercover Care Bear. We are often able to cover certain ground that the other simply can’t. The man is not touchy-feely very often, but I’ve seen his softest moments occur when loving on our children. In the same breath, I will admit that while he’s gone and the kids are giving attitude, I threaten “the call” – the call of the Daddy. Shameless, I know, but it gets the job done in those situations where mama can’t take no mo’.

5FB

6FB

Treasured family portraits taken by Ash Wells of Bubble Gum & Glitter Photography of Fort Wainwright, AK.

Collin – love of my life, song of my soul, spoiler of babes – thank you for everything you do, and everything you are, everyday, for your children. On the days I think we are doing it all wrong, that our children are going to grow up and be lunatics, you remind me that we’re doing okay. Good even. When I fell I’m not at my best, you’re always there to pick up the slack – even 1,000 miles away. Being the Mom to your Dad is one of the greatest pleasures I will ever have, and I thank God for you everyday.

Love,

Jeri Layne

Psalm 127:3-5

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Follow me:

Facebook: Jeri Layne Cox Photography

Instagram: @jerilaynecoxphotography

Snapchat: @jlayne21

Leave a Reply

